First Failure? or First Success?

After all, Sally, the co-head of FBLA, and I worked on trying to get teachers involved in our project. We visited every single teacher who can drive toasters, mini bus, and they seemed hesitating at first.

“Hi, Mr.XX, my name is Ashley Hwang and this is Sally. We are the heads of FBLA. This year, our club is  trying to fundraise for KIVA by relaunching area drive. This year students are suffering because all the area drives are gone, and whenver we need necessity for living, we have to pay expensive and dangerous cab to go out.  If you are interested would you like to donate your love and time by driving toasters?”

Well, this was our brief script to persuade teachers– except the explanation of Kiva and FBLA was longer. We had to give each of them 5 minutes speech of what our plan is and whether they are interested. We understood some teachers would say no to it because it is such an energy consuming work for some of them. According to my mom, driving could be very concentration-requiring work because one mistake can lead to big accident. However, 16 out of 16 teachers said YES!! 

We were thrilled. It seemed like the plan was going really well. Sally and I went over to our club advisor’s office, and talked about how amazing this plan would end up. We started planning details such as how much money should collect from each student? How should we choose stations? etc.

Sometimes I chicken out prior to even trying it. I didn’t want to fail; I did not want to fall down, even though people told me it is O.K to fall. If the obstacle seemed bigger than my capability to overcome, I would just stay still and give up. This project, as well, looked not as bad as I thought, and I was POSITIVE that this plan would work. There is no fail for me!

However, unlike other teachers, the first word that came out from dean of student’s mouth was “no.” We spent the whole class period trying to persuade her; obviously, it did not work, and we fail to move on. She said, “I am very sorry, and I will take your effort as constructive criticism. And we will try to get more area drive.” CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM?! When she took the list of teachers who signed up and put them as area drive drivers, I was furious. Fury became as we talked more about the plan.

Sally and I walked out from the room with frustration and headed to AP Chemistry class together.

“Oh man.. I don’t know what to do now, Sally.”

“We will figure. Don’t worry about it Ashley.”

It was our club’s first try and failure. We were disappointed, frustrated and sad, but it’s okay. We felt how warm teachers’ hearts were and how warm the world is. We learned that whenever we need help or any part of community needs help, there is always someone who is willing to help us.

Oh, guess what! Since that week, we have area drive every weekend. We don’t have to live shampooless-ly anymore! Even though our plan was frustrated, our plan worked basically! HA!

Leave a Reply

